ABR Alternate Pathway discussion ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ismailishak

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I graduated medical school from Turkey, and finished my Diagnostic Radiology training in Germany. I am a board certified Radiologist in Germany.

US is a big dream for me since my childhood, and it's seems that attending lifestyle in the US beats all the others.

I found that an IMG who is certified DR in his homecountry can be board eligible if he finishes 4 year ACGME accreditated fellowship.

So in theory, if I work as a fellow for 4 consecutive year in a ACGME accreditated program and after that I can get board exams. And if I pass board exams and state exams, I have no longer any difference from a us-residency trained radiologist in terms of Salary and Title right?

It is so good to be true so I tought there has to be some catch :). Like when IMG surgeons who works as a doctor in academic but doesn't get pay as us-residency trained ones.

So, just to clarify my question;

In example, X person who is US med school grad - US residency DR trained doctor will make the same as a I, who international med grad, outside US - DR trained, completed 4 consecutive fellowship years in US and passed State-Board exams.

There is no catch, Right ? :)

Members don't see this ad.

No catch. Once you finish the ABR alternate pathway and become board certified you are equivalent to a US trained MD and eligible for the same jobs (beyond visa considerations).

On top of that, you don't even have to do 4 years of fellowships. As long as you are in an institution with an ACGME residency you can do some of the 4 years as a resident or as faculty (provided they want to bring you on as faculty)

Reactions: 1 user
No catch. Once you finish the ABR alternate pathway and become board certified you are equivalent to a US trained MD and eligible for the same jobs (beyond visa considerations).