2nd time applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopeful_vet2026

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my 2nd application cycle (to Tennessee)... Last year I interviewed but was not accepted. I requested a packet review afterwards and was told I've got plenty of experience, my LORs were great, above average GRE scores (we are required to take the GRE but it doesn't count for anything on the application), interview was fabulous, "they loved your personality", etc etc. Sounds great, right? Then they told me what cut me out of the running: my most recent 45 math and science grades.

I'm 34, took a decade off from school to be a mother and work and when i decided to go back, i started with prerequisites only.... Namely chemistry and physics. I didn't do well. I got Cs in both gen chem 1 and 2 and physics 1. Since last cycle, I'll be adding the following classes/grades:
Genetics B
Calculus A
Anthropological Biology A
One Health B
Microbiology B
And... Biochem C (but its less than 2 points from a B, if that matters).

Im wondering if these much better grades in math and science classes will help my chances this year? What do y'all think?

Thanks in advance for looking and reading!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not entirely sure how they count some of my courses from PennFoster, the university itself won't take the credits but my transcripts are on my application. I had a 3.8 GPA there (veterinary technician school, almost all math and science) so my stats are pretty different with and without those grades.

Without
Cumulative: 3.25
Last 45: I believe a 2.9, of course before adding all of my upcoming fall classes, and with realistic grades it becomes a 3.2.
Again it depends for my science gpa.