26 yo, military, low undergrad GPA, in Lehigh M.S. Program - M.D or M.D-PhD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xfactor121893

Reaction score
So... I originally attended the University of Pittsburgh and partied my face off. I joined the Marine Corps for a good ol' kick in the butt and I've served in the reserves for 6 years. I meanwhile finished school elsewhere and attained a B.S. in Cell & Molecular Biology with a Chem minor. I had very demanding military obligations during the school year and often had to withdraw from classes or miss quizzes/tests if my professors weren't sympathetic. I graduated with a 2.9 GPA, mostly due to my liberal arts professors. My senior year I took all graduate-level biology courses and got a 3.75 quite easily. I am currently in a M.S. program in Molecular Biology at Lehigh University, a fairly prestigious institution. I am also currently working at a local lab doing research and development working on COVID-19 immunoassay tests (ELIZA kits) among other projects.

I believe my resume is starting to rise again from the grave so I am considering medical school. My question is: assuming I have adequate graduate GPA and MCAT scores, would it be smarter to apply for an M.D/PhD or just a M.D.? I don't have a strong background in medicine, though I participate in clinical research through my job. With my concentrated background in molecular biology and private-sector research experience, I feel I'd be more attractive as a Medical Researcher to an institution where I could potentially contribute to their program's research portfolio. Plus I can potentially transfer credits and shave off a year or two of the PhD program. So what do you guys think? I wonder if in my case a M.D/PhD is actually the smarter choice..

As a side note: I am not a combat veteran (no G.I. Bill) and I do not yet have my name on research publications.

Members don't see this ad.