This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Even the navy is now trying to push you to complete your training before going out o practice independently. While there are probably always going to be opportunities to practice as a GMO in the military I am really not certain I can recommend this as a goal. You should want to practice medicine as a fully trained doctor. I was an intern trained UMO and while dive school is a lot of fun and I think I probably did an ok job at it I don’t think that intern only trained doctors should be asked to fill some of the roles that they are asked to fill in the GMO system.

That said going to the actual plan, don’t apply for a residency you don’t want to do. Unless something changes you can decline residency training if you choose to.

P.S. Just so you know it’s HPSP not HSPS

Reactions: 1 user
Hello, I’m in the process of applying to medical school this cycle. If I get in, and depending on the cost of the program, I’m seriously considering HPSP as a way to pay for school. For the specialities that I’m currently interested in (EM/Psych/Neuro), financially I think HPSP is still comparable to the loans route. But I would give it the edge because I don’t like the idea of swimming in debt for a decade. I also want to scratch this itch to serve my country for a period of time, though I don’t want to have a military career.

If I do go the HPSP route, I’m most heavily leaning towards Navy, with AF in second. I’m actually quite fascinated with the operational medicine jobs offered by these branches (FS/UMO/GMO). From what I’ve read, this seems like an amazing chance to do some cool things that I’ll probably never have a chance to again. Fly jets, dive, deploy in weird places around the world… yes please.