This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted1016078

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
In four years post-residency, if you do not make any payments, 320k will accrue to about 440k if your annual interest rate is 8% on your student loans. You would need to pay over 2k a month just to pay interest and keep your debt at a stable 320k. Also note that your balance is charged interest while in med school. So maybe you will have more than 320k at graduation. I am in the same boat. Also I disclaimer, I am not a financial expert of any kind lol. This may not be accurate.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN

Reactions: 1 user
It’s fairly simple math, since while you’re in school it’s simple interest that doesn’t compound.

Divide your total loan amount by 8, since your loans are dispersed twice yearly, for 8 instances total.

Then take that number and multiple by your interest and 4yrs. Then add that number time interest and 3.5yrs, then 3yrs, and so on.

Members don't see this ad :)
It’s fairly simple math, since while you’re in school it’s simple interest that doesn’t compound.

Divide your total loan amount by 8, since your loans are dispersed twice yearly, for 8 instances total.

Then take that number and multiple by your interest and 4yrs. Then add that number time interest and 3.5yrs, then 3yrs, and so on.

I assumed that interest was calculated monthly, meh

Okay, so I did a rough estimate and it looks like my loans will be at about 370k by the start of residency (-_-). If I'm doing this right, then that means I have to pay about 24k each year of residency just to keep it at 370k. Is this number worrisome? I also am unsure if I would even be able to keep off further accrual with a residents salary. It just seems very intimidating a number.