1 year attending job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MouseChair

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I am a rads resident about to rank and match for fellowship. Spouse is an FM PGY 2. Rank list right now is all over the country, mostly in big metros/big academic centers. We will likely return to the area we are currently in after my fellowship year (its her hometown). We aren't interested in doing distance for a year. She isn't really interested in a fellowship year either.

Would it be feasible for wife to have a 1 year attending job wherever I end up for fellowship? Or would practices not be interested in her if she is going to only be there for a year?

A lot of practices, especially those that are in health systems, advertise some sort of loan forgiveness (for example 200k over 4 years). Would she typically be still entitled to a prorated amount, like 50k for the 1 year of training?

Would appreciate any advice on how to approach her 1 year job hunt/offer negotiation

Members don't see this ad.

Hi
I am a rads resident about to rank and match for fellowship. Spouse is an FM PGY 2. Rank list right now is all over the country, mostly in big metros/big academic centers. We will likely return to the area we are currently in after my fellowship year (its her hometown). We aren't interested in doing distance for a year. She isn't really interested in a fellowship year either.

Would it be feasible for wife to have a 1 year attending job wherever I end up for fellowship? Or would practices not be interested in her if she is going to only be there for a year?

A lot of practices, especially those that are in health systems, advertise some sort of loan forgiveness (for example 200k over 4 years). Would she typically be still entitled to a prorated amount, like 50k for the 1 year of training?

Would appreciate any advice on how to approach her 1 year job hunt/offer negotiation