Seeking Success Stories:Ortho Residency with 3.5 GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Orthodontics-Applicantt

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am truly passionate about orthodontics and I am determined to find ways to increase my chances of getting accepted into a program.
  • I'm currently a third-year dental student with an average GPA and class rank, around 3.55. I am aware that my GPA is not competitive enough for this residency, and I am very concerned about how this might impact my chances of acceptance. However, I am committed to strengthening my application in other areas.
  • I also have a master’s degree but haven’t secured any publications yet.
  • I'm involved in a few orthodontic research projects which hopefully will result in 1 or 2 publications by the end of my last year.
  • I have a lot in extracurricular involvements
  • My clinical experience is great, and I plan to complete a GPR to strengthen my application.
  • I believe I can count on receiving strong letters of recommendation from my references
However, I am only applying for programs that offer a stipend.
I would love to hear from individuals who had similar GPAs but successfully secured a residency in orthodontics. Any tips or advice you could share would be incredibly valuable.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on your rank. Why not apply this year? Why are you only applying to paid residencies when you already feel disadvantaged based on your gpa?

Reactions: 3 users
Why are you only applying to paid residencies when you already feel disadvantaged based on your gpa?
This.

Beggars can’t be choosers. If you’re a below average applicant, plan on attending a below average program (i.e. one that will add $300-400k to your student loans).

Big Hoss

• Dislike
Reactions: 9 users
Members don't see this ad :)
This.