IA for plagiarism 20 years ago

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sn00pygrrl

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I’m a 41 year old NP who is taking prerequisites and will be ready to apply in Spring 2022. I have been a full-time nurse/NP for 11 years and really always wanted to be a doctor, but didn’t have guidance as a youngster, went to a poorly performing high school in a rural area, and for many years, I simply didn‘t believe in myself or my abilities.

My question is this: 20 years ago as a college senior, I plagiarized on a paper. It was obvious, I was immediately caught, and in the meeting with the professor and the dean, I admitted it and was assigned what I believe was a fair and just punishment, which was an F in the class and a one-year hold on my diploma. They allowed me to walk in the graduation with my fellow students, but I didn’t officially graduate until the following June.

I can honestly say that this was a singular episode. I had never plagiarized before and I never have since. This episode haunted me for a long time and I did a lot of soul-searching to figure out how I got to that extreme point of desperation/panic. I now think there were a lot of reasons, but they don’t really matter. What matters is that I learned A LOT about myself from it and though I will always feel terrible about how I hurt myself and the other students in the class by violating my school’s honor code, I do think I eventually emerged from the episode a better person somehow. I developed more empathy for people who screw up, have remorse for it, and need a second chance.

I have gone on to get 3 more degrees, including a master’s in literature and a bachelor’s and master’s in nursing. I have never had any other academic issues. I maintained a 4.0 GPA in the nursing programs and currently have a 4.0 in my pre-requisite classes (I am taking them at a top 20 public university).