MSPE Concern for Applying: Would like Advice and Wisdom

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicine1996

Reaction score
So I am a 4th year student, pretty average to slightly below average Step 1 (226), Step 2 pending, and all Ps or HPs on clerkships. The shelves have always been the thing that held be down from getting better 3rd year grades, but they are done now and time to move on. I would say I objectively received great to outstanding comments from my rotations which eases me a little.

However, the big concern to me is that I have a red flag amongst all the other great comments and generally decent applications. I had lied about an absence around the middle of my 3rd year. I was planning on going to visit my relative who was very ill, which I did, however one of the 2 days I was absent I also participated in another event that I had not listed on the absence request originally. I was reported by someone but when I was originally confronted, I said I never attended another event. I was at the time frustrated with myself that I could do this and thus lied, but in hindsight I should have been upfront and clear as possible from the very first encounter with the school. After this, I had to have a meeting with the promotions committee and no drastic measures were taken ( I had to write an essay and attend a state board meeting and meet with the ethics professor). I completely regret the tiny, but important decision I made to lie and I never will or want to fall into that circumstance again. Apart from this incident, I have been a very well-liked student, great comments from faculty, and I hope to get strong LORs. I was even selected to represent the school for their LCME visit in my 2nd year.